Skip to content

I’m so blessed

February 17, 2010

Oh how blest I am this morning. I’ve been listening to some good Church of God singing and sitting here crying and waving my hands in praise. Nothing compares to real singing in the spirit—not this junk that passes for ‘singing in the spirit’ on TV or the modern Christian music. I mean real singing by men and women who have lived the life of righteousness and proven the scriptures. It shines out through their music. It has nothing so much to do with the words or beat of instrumental back up, but all to do with the witness of the spirit that they sing in.

They’ve been singing “Heaven Will Surely Be Worth It All!” And I’ve been thinking on the fact that from inside my heart looking out, I cannot say I’ve had so many difficult times. People have told me I have had and they’ve commiserated with me over my husband dying and my mother, then my father and having to raise my kids alone and not having any insurance money to speak of or any real security to make that easier. People have sympathized over my knees not working right and that I’ve suffered a lot of pain because I couldn’t afford to have them repaired.

But you know, it has all drawn me closer to the Lord. All I did was depend on Him for everything-sickness, pain, heartache, financial problems, broken cars, plumbing problems, floods. Every hardship has been easy. I’m not being all smarmy and gushy and sanctimonious when I say that. I can’t stand people who stand up and wave their handkerchief and claim how easy it’s been to live for God and then turn around and be whining over every hard place. The same people who do that turn around the next day and walk with the devil for a while, because it’s just too hard to live for God all the time.

No, I MEAN I’ve never known I was in a hard place until later when somebody told me how hard that must have been. You know that verse, “Come unto me all ye who labor and are heavy laden and I will give thee rest, for My yoke is easy and my burden is light.” It is soooo true. If you are finding this Christian life hard and an uphill battle, maybe you need to sell out a little more fully. Because I’ve proven it over and over—Living for the Lord is an easy blessing. It isn’t hard and demandingand full of self denial. I never went from day to day moaning and groaning. I never lived in fear of what might happen. I raised my kids with no medical insurance. I’ve lived my life without any. I worked and we lived not quite, but almost, from pay check to pay check. And we ALWAYS had what we needed when we needed it. Praise the Lord! I had some burdens. I prayed hard for a few things. I wept for a few things. We were all sick from time to time. But underneath were the everlasting arms! And I had the assurance that “ALL THINGS work together for good to them that love the Lord and are called according to His purpose.”

And they have. Through death and all sorts of other calamities, God has worked everything to His Purpose and my blessing.

My heart is over flowing and full. I am so blest

My theme song today might be the gospel song “I’m Going Through” I wonder if you know it.

Lord, I have started to walk in the light
That shines on my pathway so clearly, so bright;
I’ve bade the world and its follies adieu,
And now with my Savior I mean to go through.

Refrain:
I’m going through, I’m going through,
I’ll pay the price, whatever others do;
I’ll take the way with the Lord’s despised few;
I’m going through, Jesus, I’m going through.

Many once started to run in this race,
But with our Redeemer they would not keep pace;
Others accepted because it was new,
But not very many seem bound to go through.

Let me but follow my Lord all alone,
And have for my pillow, like Jacob, a stone,
Rather than vain worldly pleasures pursue,
Than turn from this pathway and fail to go through.

Come then, my comrades, and walk in this way
That leads to the kingdom of unending day;
Turn from your idols and join with the few,
Start in with your Savior, and keep going through

I wish I could find someone singing it, but the best I could do was this midi link: http://library.timelesstruths.org/music/Im_Going_Through/midi/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

