Skip to content

three cents

September 3, 2010

If you’ve read here long yoou already know that the Lord called me to serve on a mission school from shortly after  it opened until it was closed years later.  While I served there I served “by faith.”  Most people working in the religious field today don’t know what that means.  They all receive a salary from a mission board or church organization which serves the same purpose.   When we serve by faith there is no money paid or even reimbursement for ‘expenses.’  The only income we had was what we were able to ‘ pray in’ as the old folks said. Although we were permitted to eat with the children we had no special meals or compensations.     

During the time I was there I taught school (grades 1 – 6)  and served as dorm mother and part-time cook.   One Friday as I was serving the meal to the children my co-dorm mother asked if I could drive her to town.  She had no car.  I had exactly three cents in my wallet.  No money for gas and no money for dinner.  (it was a several hour expedition and we usually had to eat out while we were gone,)  Nor did I have any money for some personal items I needed. 

Linda said if I would take her she would buy the gas and also my meal.  I agreed to do it although I hated to have to let her pay.  She didn’t have much more than I did.

Here is the fantastic part.  As we were serving the mail arrived.  There was a check for me for $30.00!  Now this was forty years ago so thirty dollars was still not a lot but nothing to sneeze at either.  I was able to buy some gas, pay for my own meal and get a couple things I needed.   LOL and get this!  I had money left over!  How things have changed in 40 years!   

 The scripture came to me immediately:  Verily I say unto you, There is no man that hath left house, or brethren, or sisters, or father, or mother, or wife, or children, or lands, for my sake, and the gospel’s,  30But he shall receive an hundredfold now in this time, houses, and brethren, and sisters, and mothers, and children, and lands, with persecutions; and in the world to come eternal life.   Mark 10:29-30 

Do the math..  I didn’t have a hundredfold.  I had a thousandfold!!  And that’s a true story

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

