Skip to content

blessings

July 12, 2011
tags:

I am so blessed! Sunday morning in service we sang the song, “Til the Storm Passes By.” I was so blessed by it that I simply couldn’t sing. I had one hand waving in the air and the other wiping my tears.

In the dark of the midnight have I oft hid my face,
When the storm howled around me, and there was no hiding place.
‘Mid the crash of the thunder, Precious Lord, hear my cry,
Keep me safe till the storm passes by.

Till the storm passes over, till the thunder sounds no more,
Till the clouds roll forever from the sky;
Hold me fast, let me stand in the hollow of Thy hand,
Keep me safe till the storm passes by.

Many times Satan whispers, “There’s just no use to try,
For there’s no end of sorrow, and there’s no hope by and by”
But I know Thou art with me, and tomorrow I’ll rise
Where the storms never darken the skies.

When the long night has ended and the storm comes no more
May I dwell in thy presence on the bright peaceful shore;
In that land where no storm ever comes, Lord may I
Dwell with thee till the storm passes by.

Till the storm passes over, till the thunder sounds no more,
Till the clouds roll forever from the sky;
Precious Lord, let me stand in the hollow of Thy hand,
Keep me safe till the storm passes by.

The Lord has proven Himself over and over and over for me! I have cried at midnight. I have felt like there was no place to shelter me. I have heard Satan whisper his lie and his threats. I’ve felt the sorrows and the heartache so that I couldn’t see past it. But EVERY time the Lord was there, covering me over with His Hand. My body may have suffered, but the most vital part of me was safe in the Lord’s protection. And the Lord then cared for my physical needs, too! Just in time. Every time.

The song is still running through my head and heart this morning, two days later. “In the dark of the midnight I’ve often sought His face…when there was no other hiding place and no other help!” What a wonderful recourse in time of need. I thank Him for that shelter close by Him.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

